Archive

Archive for the ‘databases’ Category

New Trial Database: Credo Reference

November 13, 2009 resnicklibrary Leave a comment

From now until the end of November, the Credo Reference database will be on trial. It is designed to be a great place to start looking for information, and it enables a user to connect quickly to different databases to find further information on a topic. For example, if you find a great biography on an artist, you can then click on the link for the Resnick Library Catalog, and it will search for your artist to see if there are any books in the library about that artist. Pretty cool, huh? Check it out, and give us feedback on whether or not this new database is useful to you.

Categories: News & Events, databases

ScienceDirect Database Down for Maintenance

October 28, 2009 resnicklibrary Leave a comment

This announcement comes from our ScienceDirect database provider (Elsevier).  Please take note of the down-time, as it may affect your ability to search the database:

ScienceDirect will be unavailable due to scheduled maintenance for approximately 9 hours from 1:00AM GMT Sunday, 1 November to 10:00AM GMT (9:00PM EDT Saturday, October 31 to 5:00AM EST Sunday 1, November).

If you have any questions regarding our databases, don’t hesitate to Contact Us.

Categories: News & Events, databases

LexisNexis Down for Maintenance

October 23, 2009 resnicklibrary Leave a comment

This message comes from our LexisNexis provider, please take note of the scheduled outage date and time:

All LexisNexis online products will be unavailable during a scheduled maintenance outage related to the end of Daylight Savings Time.  Products affected include LexisNexis Academic, Congressional, and Statistical.

LexisNexis online products will be unavailable to users from October 31, 9:00 p.m. through November 01, 2009, 5:00 a.m. Eastern Time.

While we have scheduled the outage at time of relatively low activity, we regret the inconvenience it will cause for some users.  Please help us minimize the inconvenience by notifying the users at your institution who may be affected by this interruption.

Categories: News & Events, databases

360 Link and Journal Title Search Down for Maintenance

October 22, 2009 resnicklibrary Leave a comment

From Serials Solutions (our 360 Link and Online Journal Title Search provider):

We would like you, as a valued user of a Serials Solutions service,
to be aware of an upcoming system downtime that will occur later next
week.
Upcoming system downtime: We are scheduled to upgrade our systems on
Saturday, October 24, from 3:00 am – 5:00 am Eastern Time. As a result of this upgrade, all services (Serials Solutions 360 services, Client Center, Ulrich’s, and Summon) may be unavailable for this period of time.

NetLibrary Down for Maintenance

From Status Line:
OCLC has notified us that NetLibrary will experience two maintenance periods in October that will affect libraries and users.

October 6th, Approximately 9:00 – 11:00am EDT

Though the impact on the NetLibrary site is expected to be minimal, servers will be taken out of service incrementally and the operating systems will be patched. Consequently users may experience unexpected behavior during this time (e.g. losing sessions unexpectedly or losing access to a title). In these cases the users should be able to log back in and return to what they were doing within a few minutes.

October 11th, 4:00 – 6:00 am EDT

This scheduled maintenance will result in a temporary outage of all NetLibrary services, which includes the NetLibrary patron site and the NetLibrary Media Center. During this time an explanatory page will display in place of the patron website.

Attn Faculty: Persistent Links Will Not Work from Cancelled DB’s

This blog posting is mainly for faculty, but also for anyone that has used persistent/permanent links to articles featured in these two databases from EBSCO: Academic Search Premier and Business Source Premier.

Over the summer, the library was able to upgrade to the fuller versions of these: Academic Search Complete and Business Source Complete. Our subscription to the older ones were canceled, rendering links to these broken. To update your links, simply change the letters in the links.
Academic Search Complete (db=aph should change to db=a9h)
Business Source Complete (db=buh should change to db=bth)

If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to contact the library.

Fall 2009 Emergency Password

The emergency password to access databases has been changed for the Fall 2009 semester! If your 800# is not working properly, this emergency password will grant you access. You can view the password on the Resnick Library’s Vancko Hall page, under the Databases Forum.   The summer password will work for another week, then be deactivated.

Please contact the library when your 800# does not work as well.  With the beginning of the fall semester, most students who were experiencing problems over the summer should find that their 800#’s are working.

Have a great semester!

New Online Databases and Trials

The Resnick Library hopes that the summer is a time for rest and relaxation for both the students and faculty of SUNY Delhi, but don’t assume for one second that your librarians have been dozing the summer away.  The Resnick Library has acquired some great new databases and titles, as well as some trial subscriptions worth checking out.  First, we’ll start with the new purchased items:

American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) Journals Online
AVMA publishes two excellent veterinary journals which the library has had in print for many years.  We are now happy to announce that with our print subscription comes the electronic version of the American Journal of Veterinary Research (AJVR) and the Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association (JAVMA) from the year 2000 to the present.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL): New Titles
The GVRL reference e-book database has been originally provided to SUNY Delhi through our consortium with the other SUNY schools (SUNYConnect), but now we are proud to announce that the following titles have been added to the collection:
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior
Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd ed.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
National Survey of State Laws, 6th ed.
Psychology of Classroom Learning, an Encyclopedia

Salem History
Salem History is NOT just about the Salem witches.  Salem is a publishing company that provides great reference resources in many different subject areas.  The library has purchased a great new biographical reference resource called Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century.  This is available in the Reference section of the library in print (REF ML105 .M883 2009), but also will be available in an online database form through Salem History.  It contains biographies and histories of the great musicians of this past century.  Check it out, and look for more to come, since the library intends to purchase the 13-volume biographical reference called Great Athletes to be released in September, which will also be a part of the Salem History database package.

And now for some great titles that the library will be providing as trials for part of the Fall semester (keep in mind that by giving us feedback on these materials, we can better decide whether or not it is useful to purchase them).  All trials are found in the find articles A-Z and by Subject listings:

Art & Architecture Complete
This database if provided through EBSCO, and is shaping up to be an excellent resource as it covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and much more. We will have access for a trial period for this month and during part of the Fall semester.  It is also this month’s featured database.

GREENR
This database is provided through Gale, and it is a SUNY-wide trial.  It is a new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.  This should be on trial for much of the Fall semester.

Great Reads for Summer

Selected new titles from the Resnick Library are highlighted below. Most can be found on the New Book shelves during the summer, but just ask a staff member if you need help.

1. Thomas Jefferson: Architect: The Interactive Portfolio is a beautiful book combining images, narrative, and removable memorabilia celebrating the design of our third president’s most notable structures: the University of Virginia, his Monticello home, the Poplar Forest retreat, and the Virginia State Capitol.
2. Satchel : the life and times of an American legend. Recently reviewed on NPR, this is the story of Leroy Satchel Paige’s career, from the Negro Leagues to the Major Leagues.
3. Digging : the Afro-American soul of American Classical Music. Poet and playwright Amiri Baraka explores the cultural development of jazz music with respect to African American artists and how the music evolves into other forms, as well as how these artists influenced others along the way.
4. The Color Idea Book, from Taunton Press, is a great source of inspiration for expressing your ideas through color in your home.
5. The Joy of Keeping Chickens : the ultimate guide to raising poultry for fun or profit. The title says it all….
6. Building a reputation — Stay organized — Hire good people. Sound like good advice? This is from businessman Paul Teutul’s book The Ride of a Lifetime : Doing Business the Orange County Choppers Way.
7. Planet Google : One Company’s Audacious Plan to Organize Everything We Know. The strategy behind Google’s rise to Internet stardom told by New York Times columnist Randall Stross. According to Publisher’s Weekly, the “unfolding narrative of Google’s journey reads like a suspense novel.”
8. Local Breads is the result of Daniel Leader’s journey across Europe in search of the best sourdough and whole-grain recipes from the best artisan bakers. Beautiful color photographs add to this gem of a book.
9. Simply Organic is an updated edition of Jesse Ziff Cool’s “Your Organic Kitchen” with recipes organized by season.
10. And finally, for those rainy days :) , how about some new and old movies? Resnick Library has over 700 films. Stop by and ask about our video collection.

New Journal Titles in Ovid Database

Because of special funding the library now has access to these titles in Ovid.

Disaster Medicine & Public Health Preparedness

JONA: The Journal of Nursing Administration

Journal of Advanced Nursing

Journal of Holistic Nursing

Journal of Transcultural Nursing

Nursing Science Quarterly