Archive

Posts Tagged ‘databases’

NetLibrary Down for Maintenance

From Status Line:
OCLC has notified us that NetLibrary will experience two maintenance periods in October that will affect libraries and users.

October 6th, Approximately 9:00 – 11:00am EDT

Though the impact on the NetLibrary site is expected to be minimal, servers will be taken out of service incrementally and the operating systems will be patched. Consequently users may experience unexpected behavior during this time (e.g. losing sessions unexpectedly or losing access to a title). In these cases the users should be able to log back in and return to what they were doing within a few minutes.

October 11th, 4:00 – 6:00 am EDT

This scheduled maintenance will result in a temporary outage of all NetLibrary services, which includes the NetLibrary patron site and the NetLibrary Media Center. During this time an explanatory page will display in place of the patron website.

Attn Faculty: Persistent Links Will Not Work from Cancelled DB’s

This blog posting is mainly for faculty, but also for anyone that has used persistent/permanent links to articles featured in these two databases from EBSCO: Academic Search Premier and Business Source Premier.

Over the summer, the library was able to upgrade to the fuller versions of these: Academic Search Complete and Business Source Complete. Our subscription to the older ones were canceled, rendering links to these broken. To update your links, simply change the letters in the links.
Academic Search Complete (db=aph should change to db=a9h)
Business Source Complete (db=buh should change to db=bth)

If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to contact the library.

ScienceDirect Database Down This Weekend

September 18, 2009 resnicklibrary Leave a comment

From ScienceDirect (database):

Dear Customer,

ScienceDirect, Scopus and The Admin Tool will be unavailable due to scheduled maintenance for approximately 13 hours from 12:00 GMT Saturday, 19 September to 01:00 GMT Sunday, 20 September (08:00 EDT Saturday, September 19 to 21:00 EDT).

We apologize for the inconvenience.

Regards,

The Elsevier Team.

Categories: News & Events Tags: ,

Fall 2009 Emergency Password

The emergency password to access databases has been changed for the Fall 2009 semester! If your 800# is not working properly, this emergency password will grant you access. You can view the password on the Resnick Library’s Vancko Hall page, under the Databases Forum.   The summer password will work for another week, then be deactivated.

Please contact the library when your 800# does not work as well.  With the beginning of the fall semester, most students who were experiencing problems over the summer should find that their 800#’s are working.

Have a great semester!